A Matter of Perspective

“Planning to write is not writing. Outlining…researching…talking to people about what you’re doing, none of that is writing. Writing is writing.” E.L. Doctorow

I read this quote today and have been thinking about it ever since and I need to hold this truth to be self-evident. 

Planning to write is not writing. I am writing, but not as much as I would like to be writing. I have making more plans and doing even more research, than I have been writing.

This quote brings everything into perspective.

The more you write, the better your writing becomes. I believe this to be true, as does every writer I have ever met. It’s time to get back to basics, the basics of writing. I am going to write and then I will write some more. When I am done writing, I will start all over and do it again.

3 thoughts on “A Matter of Perspective

  1. Well, I have to say it’s about as true as anything I’ve heard. I don’t think it means that the other stuff you do to prepare for your story isn’t important, just that if you want to get anywhere as a writer, then you must write. Plain and simple. Like you, I’m writing, but not as much as I want to and not on the types of things that mean the most to me. Sounds like it’s time to make some changes, huh?

    KJ
    http://interminablewriter.com
    http://nanadiaries.com

  2. It’s the perfect quote and I have it printed and taped all the way around my laptop. I thought it would be a distraction, but it’s not so bad.

    I have to write more, even though I am still fighting off a cold and would like to do nothing but nap.

    Such is life. I did have a new concept for a story today and have worked a little of it up…not that many words, but it’s better than nothing.

Leave a Reply

