Am I blocked? Or just not that into it?

That is the question of the day. Am I blocked?  Or am I just not that into it lately. The “it” being writing. I don’t know. I am a writer and writers write. ‘Nuff said. However, I haven’t felt like writing. 

I have no clue as to what is going on. Well, maybe not a clue. I hate mediocrity and have a hard time accepting same. That being said, I feel that my writing has been at best, mediocre. In turn, I am putting up huge self-imposed road blocks

Wow. I blog and automatically analyze myself and said issues. Too bad I can’t automatically change my issues. A lifetime of A+ personality trampling all over my creativity and it sucks. Probably because I let it suck and get to that point. *sigh*

I seem to be doing that a lot these days. Sighing. I realize that I am my own worst enemy. At least I have an agenda for my shrink next week.

Well, it’s time to get my tuchas in gear and get back to work. Time to work on my writing and the issues I have with myself when I am writing. I have no idea where this path is going to lead me. However, I would like to think that it is someplace fabulous. Maybe I should keep telling myself that. Let’s just hope I listen to my inner me.

7 thoughts on “Am I blocked? Or just not that into it?

  1. I think you just gotta put one foot in front of the other and keep on writing. It’s a little like love: you don’t always wake up each morning feeling gloriously in love and romantic and starry eyed…but every day you wake up and choose to love. Even on the days you feel miserably out of love w/ writing, you still choose to write… I don’t know if that necessarily helps, but it’s what’s been on my mind lately 🙂 Hope things smoothe out for you.

  2. They say the best cure for not wanting to write is…well…writing. However, I think sometimes the best cure for not wanting to write is a nice bit of chocolate and a bubble bath. I usually get my notebook wet that way. 😦

    Keep writing. Always. Letters, journal entries, whatever (I’ve learned more about my characters by writing letters to them or to someone else about them than I ever imagined I would). Just keep letting stuff come out and you’ll get your issues out on the table. 🙂

  3. Courage. The courage to write is what will help you through. pick a skeleton-in-the-closet topic, something you don’t want to tell anyone, and just purge yourself of it on paper. even if it has nothing to do with what you WANT to write about right now. tell yourself no one will see it, that you’ll trash it when done. you might be surprised at how open you become when you give yourself the permission to do something like this.

  4. The difference between those who reach their dreams and those who don’t is the difference between which “little voice” you listen to.

    Those who achieve will achieve in the face of doubt.

    Keep writing. Don’t look back.

  5. have you ever tried The Method? I know it’s mentioned in certain books, I believe maybe From Where You Dream, by Robert Olen Butler or Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott but I think the first (phenomenal books if you haven’t read them, I’d recommend them both). I learned about it in one of my fiction classes in undergrad, might help you to get unstuck. If you’re interested, let me know, I can give you the heads up on how to do it! Works pretty well to get close to the characters and the story. Check out my post on Best Whiskey, kind of alludes to the idea behind it if you’re interested. Happy Writing!

Leave a Reply

