A Writer’s Habits

Many writers have the same habits to get them in the mood, so to speak. I used to take time every morning to sit down and write. A lot of times, I went to bed with a pen and pad to free write. The shower was one of the best places for ideas and where I had fantastic inspiration. I also carried a notebook with me wherever I went. 

Looking back over the trials of the last 5 months,  I realize I have broken all of my habits. They no longer exist. What irks me is that I was making so much progress. Now, I feel like my only habit is staring at a screen and wondering if I should check my email again or play Scramble on Facebook./sigh

Blogging has always been therapeutic for me. A way of getting the juices flowing. Maybe I concentrate on blogging first thing? That way, it gets my thoughts flowing through my fingers. Another step is reading. I haven’t been reading like I should.  Reading makes my scalp tingle with every new page that I greedily consume. So, reading and blogging. Then on to free writing.

Who knows what will come after that? I am hopeful that it will be very good things.

3 thoughts on “A Writer’s Habits

  1. Thank you for this!
    It’s nice to know there are others who are in the same boat. Habits are things we hang on to, and I’ve realized that sometimes when we break them it’s because they aren’t working for us and we need new ones. Sounds like you already found what’s going to work for you. Good things will come 🙂

  2. The solution is often forcing oneself into doing what doesn’t feel natural. In time, you will establish (or re-establish) good writing habits. In the meantime, don’t think too much about the writing. Instead, think about WHY you want to write. Rediscover your lost love.

    I hope things work out and you find your way back to the path.

    BTW, I’ve moved. “A writer’s Journey” is no longer my home. Click my name for the breadcrumbs that lead to me. 😀

  3. Just a brief look over your blog and it’s a wonder you got anything written in the past few months. You should be proud of yourself just for the writing you did, and if you didn’t do much don’t blame yourself.
    There are writers who feed off instability and there are others who need a cocoon. Know which you are and work towards what you need.
    Personally I always feel that my writing life is separate and walled-off. I went through a health crisis last fall and sat down and wrote nearly every day during it. Yet there have been times in my life when the ability to do that would have seemed incredible.

Leave a Reply

