Back with a vengeance

Why is that when a writer is blocked, no matter what we do, where we do it, the words won’t come? However, why is it that when they do come, it is at the most inopportune time?

Not that I am complaining! Far from it in fact, but my block officially left yesterday at 6:20 pm while driving 65mph on Interstate 85 in Charlotte on the way to pick up my husband from a retirement party. Here I was, motoring along, when my character spoke to me. Out of no where. I hadn’t thought of her and she was screaming in my ear!  I wasn’t prepared. I didn’t have a digital recorder with me. There were no Moleskines in my purse. Heck, I will be quite honest, I didn’t even have a pen on my person.

Naturally, I did what any sane person would do. I grabbed the closest thing I could write on–in my case a postcard reminder from the dentist’s office and scribbled what I could–in chocolate colored eyeliner. When I exited, we were stopped by a traffic light and I frantically grabbed my Blackberry and started emailing myself as fast as I could. My darling son kept an eye on the lights and let me know when they turned green.

My muse is still whispering me. I dreamed about her early this morning. Most of it involves mathematics, but that’s another story for another day. The great thing is, she’s back and that a makes me a happy gal. 

What did I learn from this? Even if I am blocked, carry my tools with me: pens, Moleskine and recorder. I also learned that my Blackberry has a voice recorder. I guess it’s better late than never!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

