Sitting On It

Have you ever just sat on it? No, I am not talking about your duff. Your manuscript? Mine was sitting for more than 7 months due to the insanity that has been 2009 to date. Now? Sitting again. Why? I need to edit it. For content, clarity, etc.

So, what am I doing right now? Sitting here, antsy as all get out. It’s driving me slightly mad. I feel like a Queen song. However, I know myself well enough that if I were to start editing now, I would take what I consider to be a really good project and change it into something I don’t recognize. I would also question myself in negative ways. “Why do I write? What did I do to convince myself that I am a writer?”

I am pumping myself up to start work on my new project, but it’s a little more complicated. It’s a series for Young Readers and right now, I am in outline mode.  Did I ever mention that I despise outlining? Whenever I wrote a paper for college, I actually had to write the paper and then go back and do things in the order assigned by my professors. I realize I don’t make things easy on myself!

Rambling again. This means it is time to stop for  now.

Leave a Reply

