Writing takes practice…

Writing well takes practice. A lot of practice. Let’s just say that I am guilty of not practicing like I should and my writing is suffering. There is now flo. It feels stilted and forced.

My writing is definitely suffering. I work and communicate with women who are magnificent writers every single day of my life. While I know we all can’t have “killer content” all of the time, I feel inferior.

Even now, I am fighting the urge to let things “flow” and pick everything apart.

Could it be the stack of rejections I have had? Or is the people who want me to write, but for “exposure”. I’m sorry, but PIE or paid in exposure doesn’t pay the bills.

Part of it is my own damn procrastination. I don’t take the time I want to write. It’s my choices, but my day to day keeps me extraordinarily busy.  That also includes writing and content creation, but I’m doing a lot on the business side of writing and content.

What a tangled web we weave.

This weekend, I am taking time to sit in my bedroom, with a notebook and perfectly sharpened pencils. Starting off my page with whatever pops in my head. Free writing is perfect to get the juices flowing and I feel is essential to get me out of this, for lack of a better word, funk.

I’m hoping to find balance and presence in myself and my writing. That’s when I am happiest, when my creative juices are flowing.

It’s time to practice what I preach.

3 thoughts on “Writing takes practice…

  1. This is a get back to it note. Rejections take terrible tolls on us. It doesn’t mean we write crap (okay, sometimes we do), but there’s only so much in the editor/publisher’s budget and it’s spread thin.
    I’m glad you’re keeping your pencils sharp and keep going. It’ll fall in place every now and then.

    1. I should have responded long ago, but thank you so much Patricia. I really do appreciate your thoughts. And? I agree. The only thing you can do is just write.

Leave a Reply

