Reading and Writing

No ‘rithmetic today. Sorry to disappoint. Time for confessions again, I’ve not been reading. I don’t know about others, but when I’m not reading, I’m not writing well.

Let me take that back…I’m reading. My Google reader is full of the blogs, business and writing sites I plow through weekly, but aside from that, and a few magazines, I’ve been woefully deficit. The bad thing? I’m a reader. A real reader who tears through a series of books in no time and always has a dictionary on her lap, a highlighter and pencil for margin notes.

After logging into my Goodreads account tonight, I noticed that I had set a year challenge and was *gulp* only 95 books away from my goal. Unfortunately, my goal was 100 books. That’s right, I’ve only read five books. I’m sure I’ve read more, but I’ve only noted five as-read.

Who am I? Let me tell you, I am the woman that Andrea from Great Thoughts, is going to be giving hell. She’s asked me to participate in her book club Twitter party November 17th for Saving Cee Cee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman. In fact, I’m using that book as a way to kick off my “get back to reading campaign”.

Not reading has kept me from escaping in the way only reading allows. I’m not taking downtime from writing to actually absorb other great writers in a form that isn’t a blog post.

I also think I’m burned out on some of my favorite authors, either that or they’ve switched genres. My happy time used to be heading to the bookstore and just browsing the shelves for hours. The first and last day of school for my son — that was my time, to breathe in the former and gird myself with the latter.

After logging off, I’m crawling in bed with a large glass of water, my reading tools and a book. After all, everyone needs inspiration.

What are you reading? I’m always looking for great new books, or old books I’ve forgotten. Tell me so I can catch up and maybe get close to my goal!

2011 Reading Challenge

2011 Reading Challenge
Lisahasread 5 books toward her goal of 100 books.
hide
Leave a Reply

