Time flies when you’re writing

I haven’t posted here lately, for that I am deeply sorry. But it’s not for my not working. I am in the middle of development of a non-fiction book of Southern culture and it’s taking up a lot of my free blogging time. Geared towards women, this book requires a lot of time, travel, and meticulous research. My favorite British TV character, Miranda, would say “Such Fun.” Actually, her mother would say it, but that’s neither here nor there.

It’s definitely a different change when writing nonfiction. Since I have to keep up with so many notes, I’ve resorted to the old fashioned way of index cards and a rubber band as my preferred tools of the trade. Call me crazy, but it works for me. I’m pretty sure my high school English teacher, Ms. Stallings, would be very proud that I’m using the tools she taught me so many years ago.

All of that being said, I’m trying to be more disciplined during this coming year so I can accomplish more writing than I have in the past few years. Discipline has been on my mind a great deal and I is a tool I’ve not used well at all.

There are so many things we want to write as writers, but we also let our fear get in the way of writing. Which equals no writing and too much time spent on the Internet or futzing about. I’ve learned we can talk about writing all we want, but unless we’re walking the walk and getting words down on paper, or a blank word processing document, we’re not writing. We’re playing a role and it’s called “The Great Pretender.”

I’ve pretended to be a writer many times. You have no idea how it pains me to utter that phrase. *sigh* Mainly, it’s because I’ve teen torn on direction and trying to figure out who I want to be and I can say, without fear, I am a writer. Yes, I’m also a marketer in my other job — which means I can’t devote my full time to writing. I’m hoping to soon, but for now I’m content and going to be pushing as hard as I can to get the words out into the world.

I’m a writer. It’s time to write.

Leave a Reply

